Six September 2018 books to look forward to
Books

Six September 2018 books to look forward to

It’s the end of the month and you know what that means: a new month full of books is almost upon us! We try to have an overview like this ready for you each month. The September 2018 books look very promising, there’s something there for everybody. We handpicked six books of different genres and settings we ourselves would certainly love to read. If you have any recommendations for September, let us know in the comments! We’re always on the lookout for new books to read and review! All blurbs are taken from Goodreads.

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein

Author: Kiersten White
Publication date : September 25th

Elizabeth Lavenza hasn’t had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her “caregiver,” and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything–except a friend.

Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable–and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.

But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth’s survival depends on managing Victor’s dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies the calculating heart of a girl determined to stay alive no matter the cost . . . as the world she knows is consumed by darkness.

Confession: I’ve never read Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. So I don’t know if this novel compares to her work. Obviously, it’s an original story set somewhere before creating the monster. I don’t know if this is the perfect book for me since I lack the knowledge of Frankenstein (I always was a Dracula girl), but Kiersten White’s novel is getting high marks on Goodreads. So who knows, I might pick it up.

And the Ocean Was Our Sky

Author: Patrick Ness
Publication date: September 4th

With harpoons strapped to their backs, the proud whales of Bathsheba’s pod live for the hunt, fighting in the ongoing war against the world of men. When they attack a ship bobbing on the surface of the Abyss, they expect to find easy prey. Instead, they find the trail of a myth, a monster, perhaps the devil himself…

As their relentless Captain leads the chase, they embark on a final, vengeful hunt, one that will forever change the worlds of both whales and men.

I’ve read two Young Adult novels by Patrick Ness and I really liked both. More Than This was weird in a good way and The Rest Of Us Just Love Here is one of my favorites ever, since I could relate with the main character so much. This is another YA by his hand and yet… I don’t know if this speaks to me. I have a unexplainable fear of whales (not sharks, just whales) and I don’t know if this is the book for me personally. Still, it’s Patrick Ness so it’s a save bet to say this is some great writing.

Rule

Author: Ellen Goodlett
Publication date:  September 11th

The king is dying, his heir has just been murdered, and rebellion brews in the east. But the kingdom of Kolonya and the outer Reaches has one last option before it descends into leaderless chaos.

Or rather, three unexpected options.

Zofi has spent her entire life trekking through the outer Reaches with her band of Travelers. She would do anything to protect the band, her family. But no one can ever find out how far she’s already gone.

Akeylah was raised in the Eastern Reach, surrounded by whispers of rebellion and abused by her father. Desperate to escape, she makes a decision that threatens the whole kingdom.

Ren grew up in Kolonya, serving as a lady’s maid and scheming her way out of the servants’ chambers. But one such plot could get her hung for treason if anyone ever discovers what she’s done.

When the king summons the girls, they arrive expecting arrest or even execution. Instead they learn the truth: they are his illegitimate daughters, and one must become his new heir. But someone in Kolonya knows their secrets, and that someone will stop at nothing to keep the sisters from their destiny… to rule.

Rule sounds like a lot of Young Adult fantasy novels that came out in the past couple of years. And Three Dark Crowns in particular. Unexpected heirs to the throne; three young ladies/princesses; it just doesn’t sound all that original. But Rule is getting some great reviews over at Goodreads wo maybe this isn’t some copy+paste novel, but something very interesting to pick up. The cover for once is gorgeous, so the book has that going for it at least.

Vengeful

Author: V.E. Schwab
Publication date: September 25th

Sydney once had Serena—beloved sister, betrayed enemy, powerful ally. But now she is alone, except for her thrice-dead dog, Dol, and then there’s Victor, who thinks Sydney doesn’t know about his most recent act of vengeance.

Victor himself is under the radar these days—being buried and re-animated can strike concern even if one has superhuman powers. But despite his own worries, his anger remains. And Eli Ever still has yet to pay for the evil he has done.

I recently started reading A Conjuring Of Light, the third book in V.E. Schwab’s Shades of Magic trilogy. And I am loving it. Loving it! For my birthday, I got the Monsters of Verity duology, so I’m going to read those two books somewhere this year. After that, I want to read Vicious, the first novel in the Villains duology. Vengeful is the long awaited sequel. So while I’m not reading Vengeful anytime soon, I am getting there and I will definitely read it. I can’t believe I waiting so long before picking up a Schwab book.

Nine Perfect Strangers

Author: Liane Moriarty
Publcation date: September 18th

Nine people gather at a remote health resort. Some are here to lose weight, some are here to get a reboot on life, some are here for reasons they can’t even admit to themselves. Amidst all of the luxury and pampering, the mindfulness and meditation, they know these ten days might involve some real work. But none of them could imagine just how challenging the next ten days are going to be.

Frances Welty, the formerly best-selling romantic novelist, arrives at Tranquillum House nursing a bad back, a broken heart, and an exquisitely painful paper cut. She’s immediately intrigued by her fellow guests. Most of them don’t look to be in need of a health resort at all. But the person that intrigues her most is the strange and charismatic owner/director of Tranquillum House. Could this person really have the answers Frances didn’t even know she was seeking? Should Frances put aside her doubts and immerse herself in everything Tranquillum House has to offer – or should she run while she still can?

It’s not long before every guest at Tranquillum House is asking exactly the same question.

This isn’t necessarily my genre. But I’ve heard a lot of praise for Moriarty’s novels. Nine Perfect Strangers sounds like a fun read, one to maybe read in between some harder/larger books.

The 7 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle

Author: Stuart Turton
Publication date: September 18th

How do you stop a murder that’s already happened?

At a gala party thrown by her parents, Evelyn Hardcastle will be killed–again. She’s been murdered hundreds of times, and each day, Aiden Bishop is too late to save her. Doomed to repeat the same day over and over, Aiden’s only escape is to solve Evelyn Hardcastle’s murder and conquer the shadows of an enemy he struggles to even comprehend–but nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Deeply atmospheric and ingeniously plotted, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a highly original debut that will appeal to fans of Kate Atkinson and Agatha Christie.

This is once again one of those books that changed it’s title and publication date for the UK/US. In the UK, this book has been out since February. The US is only know getting their chance to read it. And they changed the title: from ‘The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle’ to ‘The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle’. I don’t know why. I also don’t know why this book has only now appeared on my radar as I really want to read this. It sounds very intriguing.

Comments

comments

Article written by Nora

Nora would like more time in a day to watch more tv-series & films, write more stories and read more books. Instead, she tries to combine working fulltime and being a wife, mom & friend with sponging up as much popculture in her life as one possibly can. Trigger words for her include, but are not limited to: Gaiman, Rowling, Riordan, Rowell, Star Wars, Marvel, Batman, Bucky, Netflix & Disney. On all Social Media she's known as nosinne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *